Camera exterior volume

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3348
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Camera exterior volume

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:17 pm

Hi,

it seems like the camera has no exterior volume property in LuxCore.
This leads to wrong renders if the camera is e.g. inside of a cube with a volume.
Can this feature be added?
Attachments
00005.zip
(20.9 KiB) Downloaded 68 times
scrn_2018-01-22_23-16-06.png
scrn_2018-01-22_23-16-19.png

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 3909
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Camera exterior volume

Post by Dade » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:33 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:17 pm
it seems like the camera has no exterior volume property in LuxCore.
This leads to wrong renders if the camera is e.g. inside of a cube with a volume.
Can this feature be added?
Are you looking for world volume (scene.world.volume.default):

Code: Select all

scene.volumes.vol_air.type = homogeneous
scene.volumes.vol_air.absorption = 0.0 0.0 0.0
scene.volumes.vol_air.scattering = 0.04 0.04 0.04
scene.volumes.vol_air.asymmetry = 0.0 0.0 0.0
scene.volumes.vol_air.multiscattering = 0
##
scene.world.volume.default = vol_air
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... ic.scn#L13
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3348
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Camera exterior volume

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:54 pm

I guess I am looking for that :)
Thanks.

edit: However, that would set this volume as default for all materials and lights, right?
What if I only want the camera to be in a volume, but not e.g. the sun?
I would have expected a "scene.camera.volume" setting.

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 3909
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Camera exterior volume

Post by Dade » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:41 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:54 pm
I guess I am looking for that :)
Thanks.

edit: However, that would set this volume as default for all materials and lights, right?
What if I only want the camera to be in a volume, but not e.g. the sun?
I would have expected a "scene.camera.volume" setting.
The default volume is used when the object lack of volume definitions. Just use an object with null material and an interior volume and place the camera inside the object.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 3909
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Camera exterior volume

Post by Dade » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:43 pm

I am on a tablet at the moment, looking at your scene, have you assigned the monkey outside volume ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3348
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Camera exterior volume

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:06 am

Dade wrote:
Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:43 pm
I am on a tablet at the moment, looking at your scene, have you assigned the monkey outside volume ?
This was the problem, thanks, it works like expected now.

Post Reply