Very long wait for caches enabled

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
nigma46
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 5:40 am

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by nigma46 » Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:10 am

sure.
Attachments
ground truth (no cache, PT only)
ground truth (no cache, PT only)

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 4032
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:59 am

You can try to raise the brute force radius scale, but this will lower rendering performance because the cache will be used less (over the whole image).
Or you could disable cache usage for the floor (in the material output node advanced settings).

nigma46
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 5:40 am

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by nigma46 » Thu Nov 12, 2020 9:02 am

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:59 am
You can try to raise the brute force radius scale, but this will lower rendering performance because the cache will be used less (over the whole image).
Or you could disable cache usage for the floor (in the material output node advanced settings).
Brilliant idea! Thanks.

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by Dade » Thu Nov 12, 2020 9:37 am

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:59 am
You can try to raise the brute force radius scale, but this will lower rendering performance because the cache will be used less (over the whole image).
Do walls have thickness ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

nigma46
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 5:40 am

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by nigma46 » Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:17 am

Dade wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 9:37 am
Do walls have thickness ?
no, they don't actually. Is this what causes it?

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5112
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by Dade » Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:38 am

nigma46 wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:17 am
Dade wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 9:37 am
Do walls have thickness ?
no, they don't actually. Is this what causes it?
Likely, you can have light leaks due to numerical precision (or too large cache entry conditions like normal angle, etc.) in that case.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 4032
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:44 am

Note that you don't have to add a solidify modifier to the walls if that generates too many new polies, you can also just put boxes behind the walls to block the light.

nigma46
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 5:40 am

Re: Very long wait for caches enabled

Post by nigma46 » Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:36 am

After trying blocking volumes, thickening the floor, setting face smoothing to flat.. in the end what resolved it was changing the wall geometry so that part of it did not intersect with the floor geometry. Intresting to know. Will avoid this in future.

Post Reply