Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3977
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:32 pm

Any error messages in the terminal?
Window -> Toggle System Console.

lighting_freak
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:02 pm

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by lighting_freak » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:59 am

Hi all,

I've removed all programm data and files and started from a claen system (regarding blender and luxcore).
I've downloaded the blender 2.79a RC1 from the ftp link posted on luxcore website.
I've downloaded latest alpha2 of luxcore with OCL.

After unpacking blender zip file and running it directly without setup, I've tried to install the add on.
Reading the zip file seems to be succesful, but add on activation failed.
activation error.jpg
I think it's the same error that was initiating this post, but I don't see a solution since I did all the cleaning before.
Thanks for your help.

BR
OS - Windows 7 X64
CPU - Intel CORE i7
GPU1 - Variants of notebook card from nVidia
GPU2 - Variants of notebook onboard card from Intel
Lux - Latest possible relaease

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by Dade » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:23 pm

lighting_freak wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:59 am
I've removed all programm data and files and started from a claen system (regarding blender and luxcore).
Have you removed also your user settings save in the path shown in the screenshot :?: It is where the Blender addons are installed.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

lighting_freak
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:02 pm

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by lighting_freak » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:41 pm

I've removed this folder "C:\Users\Martin\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation" completly.
Are there any other places blender saves it's user data on windows systems?

BTW, I've just tried to setup the official blender 2.79. Same error appears.
OS - Windows 7 X64
CPU - Intel CORE i7
GPU1 - Variants of notebook card from nVidia
GPU2 - Variants of notebook onboard card from Intel
Lux - Latest possible relaease

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by Dade » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:04 pm

lighting_freak wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:41 pm
I've removed this folder "C:\Users\Martin\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation" completly.
Are there any other places blender saves it's user data on windows systems?

BTW, I've just tried to setup the official blender 2.79. Same error appears.
It looks like a problem importing pyluxcore module (even if I have no idea of what the German message means). There may be few reason why it fails. Can you try to download the stand alone version of LuxCoreRender and check if the LuxCoreUI runs :?:
You may want to run LuxCoreUI.exe from command line to check if there is a error message.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3977
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:13 pm

The german message is "ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found." in english.

In the past pylux requried some Visual C++ Redistributable, do we still need that for pyluxcore?

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4971
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by Dade » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:48 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:13 pm
The german message is "ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found." in english.

In the past pylux requried some Visual C++ Redistributable, do we still need that for pyluxcore?
Yes, they are required by all VisualC+++ applications: https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/downloa ... x?id=40784
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

lighting_freak
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:02 pm

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by lighting_freak » Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:13 pm

Hi,

just downloaded the vcredist that you've recommended.
The setup say that it is already installed, so I've used the repair function but that doesn't show any effect.

Additionally I've downloaded the standalone version - the luxcoreui.exe starts without any errors. Unfortunatly I've no scene to test further functionalities. I don't know whether this information is already helpful for you.

Before "alpha 2.0" release I was able to activate the add-on.
I had some other troubles that suggested the complete removement.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=68#p890

Might be that there is something missing in the alpha 2.0 that was there before?

EDIT:
Is there a source for downloading the "old" BlendLuxCore versions?


BR
OS - Windows 7 X64
CPU - Intel CORE i7
GPU1 - Variants of notebook card from nVidia
GPU2 - Variants of notebook onboard card from Intel
Lux - Latest possible relaease

lighting_freak
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:02 pm

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by lighting_freak » Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:42 pm

Hello,

I found a solution that is working for me.
The issue with those warning messages seems to be resolved as well:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=68#p890

That is my approach unsing those data inputs:
File_Setup.JPG
Running Blender 2.79a from unzipped folder (so without setup)
Install the add-on (alpha 3) and don't activate it. Save settings and exit Blender.
Now unzip the "Standalone LuxCore" version and copy the unzipped files in this folder:

C:\Users\Your_User_Name\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.79\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\bin

After this starting blender again and activate the LuxCore add-on.
Working! Happy!

So I think there are some file not up-to-date or not available in current BlendLuxCore package. It might be not recognizable if you had previous versions on your system before, but on a clean one the decribed setup process fails. Please have a look in the download packages again.

BR
OS - Windows 7 X64
CPU - Intel CORE i7
GPU1 - Variants of notebook card from nVidia
GPU2 - Variants of notebook onboard card from Intel
Lux - Latest possible relaease

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3977
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows: Can't enable addon in latest Blender

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:49 pm

lighting_freak wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:42 pm
So I think there are some file not up-to-date or not available in current BlendLuxCore package. It might be not recognizable if you had previous versions on your system before, but on a clean one the decribed setup process fails. Please have a look in the download packages again.
Weird, I did a fresh install of the win64-opencl zip of BlendLuxCore on my Windows yesterday and it works out of the box.

I see that tbbmalloc.dll was added which is not included in BlendLuxCore/bin, maybe that's the problem. I'll add it to the package script and re-upload the Windows zips.

edit: done. Can you check again if it works now when you only download the BlendLuxCore zip?

Post Reply