My first attempt, need a lot of guidance

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
zooropa

My first attempt, need a lot of guidance

Post by zooropa »

Hi. I have been preparing a scene in Cycles and after a bit of thought I decided to finally make an attempt with Luxcore.

This is what I have so far from cycles:

The problem that I find with cycles is setting the acrylic surface correctly. As you can see the only way that I found to get the light pass through the surface and cast the grid shadow on the floor was to use a light pass plugged in the shadow rays. The drawback: I lose the shadow of the acrylic on the floor.

Anyways ...I have heard so many good things about luxcore speed and quality I decided to give a try.

This is my first attempt with luxcore ...I did not tweak anything in the scene. Added a sky + sun. The acrylic ...its not looking good, but its probably cause I just copy the glass material from the sample scenes in your web.

I want to keep trying with luxcore...I did not have much time to research, I will do it tomorrow after work. I do have some questions:

Sky+Sun
I am looking for an accurate representation for the natural light. I am using the sky for the environment light (driven by a sun lamp). Almost all the parameters need to be left as they are in order to achieve a realistic sun light. Is that correct? I am using "use sun gain" in the sky and driving everything by the sun. I activated in the sun "Normalize by color" . I also noticed by hovering on the "gain" parameter It will say needs to be 1 if you are using a tonemaper.
My camera has 3 options for tonemapper. Which one do you usually pick for having an accurate sunlight ?

Acrylic