Lux only using half of the CPU

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
steven850
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 7:17 pm

Lux only using half of the CPU

Post by steven850 » Thu Jun 11, 2020 7:22 pm

Hi, installed the luxcore blender add on, running 2.83 stable, tried the lux build from the website as well as the latest build from git.

When rendering its only using half of my CPU. I have a 3990x (single Numa node) running windows 10 enterprise. I also tried setting the threads manually to 128 but it still only uses half of the CPU. Cycles uses the full 100%.

Anyone know whats going on here?

Thanks,
Steven

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4380
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Lux only using half of the CPU

Post by Dade » Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:03 pm

steven850 wrote:
Thu Jun 11, 2020 7:22 pm
Hi, installed the luxcore blender add on, running 2.83 stable, tried the lux build from the website as well as the latest build from git.

When rendering its only using half of my CPU. I have a 3990x (single Numa node) running windows 10 enterprise. I also tried setting the threads manually to 128 but it still only uses half of the CPU. Cycles uses the full 100%.

Anyone know whats going on here?
Yes, it is a Windows limitation about having more than 64 threads. Running more threads require some specific code, the support has been added in v2.4 so it should work fine if you use an automatic build from the latest sources: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=736
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

juangea
Donor
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:23 pm

Re: Lux only using half of the CPU

Post by juangea » Fri Jun 12, 2020 9:05 am

TBH the first thing I ended doing when I acquired our 2990WX was to install linux, Windows handles those CPU horribly wrong, you get a lot more performance and way less problems with linux in these cpu’s, so if you have the chance to have a linux SSD for rendering, test it and you will see what I mean :)

Post Reply