how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
arescet
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:29 pm

how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by arescet »

Hi all,

i am trying to get my feet wet with resumable rendering in luxcore (got nostalgic about lux 1.x days)
i think i am doing something wrong, or am missing a step.
can anyone please point out where i am messing up?

in blender 2.8 i do the following:

-tick the checkbox "LuxCore Filesaver"
-set a directory
-select "text" from the dropdown then render(F12), and do the same with "binary"

now i have both .BCF and .CFG files

in luxcoreui v2.2 i do the following:

-select "rendering" menu then choose "load" option
-choose the .CFG file that was exported by blender
-let it render for about a minute
-click "rendering" menu then "pause" option
-click "film" menu then "save outputs" option (just to check if everything is going as intended)

for some reason, luxcoreui v2.2 does not seem to "know" that my scene was in 1920x1080 (or any other resolution i have set)
this leads to a smaller image than intended and this also is the case with using a .BCF file

i have tried to save the render state to a .RSM file to see if doing this would fix things but the same thing happens

what did i do wrong? what did i miss?
any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance you awesome people! :D
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by Dade »

arescet wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:40 pm -tick the checkbox "LuxCore Filesaver"
-set a directory
-select "text" from the dropdown then render(F12), and do the same with "binary"
You don't need to do both, you can just use the binary format (if you do not intended to hand edit the text files): the .bcf binary file already includes everything, geometries, materials, textures, image maps, etc.

Both the .bcf and .rsm are totally stand alone/complete formats. It is different from old Lux where you needed the .flm and the full scene to start/re-start the rendering.
arescet wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:40 pm in luxcoreui v2.2 i do the following:

-select "rendering" menu then choose "load" option
-choose the .CFG file that was exported by blender
-let it render for about a minute
-click "rendering" menu then "pause" option
-click "film" menu then "save outputs" option (just to check if everything is going as intended)

for some reason, luxcoreui v2.2 does not seem to "know" that my scene was in 1920x1080 (or any other resolution i have set)
LuxCoreUI, be default will use the current window resolution for the rendering, you need to set LuxCoreUI in "Image view" mode: menu => Tool => Image view (the default is "Camera edit").

Once in "Image view", you can render at any resolution you want, the window will gain 2 scroll bars and you can render at any resolution you want.

You may want to enable periodic image saving like with old Lux too.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by Fox »

I believe the render resuming does not work, unless you compile custom version of luxcore ui with default resolution = the resolution you render in. Same with film merging. Not sure about border render film merging, maybe border render is also locked at default resolution :roll:
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

You can pass the resolution as a command line argument.
Note that luxcoreui is a developer tool, not aimed at end users.
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by Fox »

B.Y.O.B. wrote: Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:37 pm You can pass the resolution as a command line argument.
Note that luxcoreui is a developer tool, not aimed at end users.
Is there guide in wikipedia somewhere?
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Code: Select all

› ./luxcoreui -h
LuxCoreUI v2.2beta2 (LuxCore demo: http://www.luxcorerender.org)
Usage: ./luxcoreui [options] [configuration file]
 -o [configuration file]
 -f [scene file]
 -w [window width]
 -e [window height]
 -g <enable full screen mode>
 -t [halt time in secs]
 -D [property name] [property value]
 -d [current directory path]
 -m <makes the mouse operations work in "grab mode">
 -c <remove all unused meshes, materials, textures and image maps>
 -h <display this help and exit>
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by Fox »

Thx B.Y.O.B

Custom resolution works for me like that:

Code: Select all

luxcoreui.exe -o C:\Users\Human\Documents\swimming_pool_benchmark\swimming_pool_benchmark_LuxCore\00001\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666
But how can i resume RSM file?
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by Dade »

Fox wrote: Sat Oct 19, 2019 6:18 pm But how can i resume RSM file?
Use the .rsm file instead of the .cfg as argument.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by Fox »

It works :D

Code: Select all

Render custom resolution
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666

Resume render from rsm file
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\resume.rsm -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666
arescet
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:29 pm

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Post by arescet »

You don't need to do both, you can just use the binary format (if you do not intended to hand edit the text files): the .bcf binary file already includes everything, geometries, materials, textures, image maps, etc.

Both the .bcf and .rsm are totally stand alone/complete formats. It is different from old Lux where you needed the .flm and the full scene to start/re-start the rendering.

LuxCoreUI, be default will use the current window resolution for the rendering, you need to set LuxCoreUI in "Image view" mode: menu => Tool => Image view (the default is "Camera edit").

Once in "Image view", you can render at any resolution you want, the window will gain 2 scroll bars and you can render at any resolution you want.

You may want to enable periodic image saving like with old Lux too.

glad you pointed imageview out, i am glad to know that .RSM files are complete files.
i will spend more time tinkering with the UI to figure out resumable rendering and periodic image saves like with old lux
You can pass the resolution as a command line argument.
Note that luxcoreui is a developer tool, not aimed at end users.

› ./luxcoreui -h
LuxCoreUI v2.2beta2 (LuxCore demo: http://www.luxcorerender.org)
Usage: ./luxcoreui [options] [configuration file]
-o [configuration file]
-f [scene file]
-w [window width]
-e [window height]
-g <enable full screen mode>
-t [halt time in secs]
-D [property name] [property value]
-d [current directory path]
-m <makes the mouse operations work in "grab mode">
-c <remove all unused meshes, materials, textures and image maps>
-h <display this help and exit>
that explains my instant non-dev fear of the UI then, ha!
i appreciate the detailed command line arguments very much
Thx B.Y.O.B

Custom resolution works for me like that:

luxcoreui.exe -o C:\Users\Human\Documents\swimming_pool_benchmark\swimming_pool_benchmark_LuxCore\00001\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666

It works :D
Render custom resolution
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666

Resume render from rsm file
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\resume.rsm -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666
Your example is much appreciated, i will give it a go myself

Thanks to all for the tips!
you guys rock :D :D :D
Post Reply