Page 1 of 2

how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:40 pm
by arescet
Hi all,

i am trying to get my feet wet with resumable rendering in luxcore (got nostalgic about lux 1.x days)
i think i am doing something wrong, or am missing a step.
can anyone please point out where i am messing up?

in blender 2.8 i do the following:

-tick the checkbox "LuxCore Filesaver"
-set a directory
-select "text" from the dropdown then render(F12), and do the same with "binary"

now i have both .BCF and .CFG files

in luxcoreui v2.2 i do the following:

-select "rendering" menu then choose "load" option
-choose the .CFG file that was exported by blender
-let it render for about a minute
-click "rendering" menu then "pause" option
-click "film" menu then "save outputs" option (just to check if everything is going as intended)

for some reason, luxcoreui v2.2 does not seem to "know" that my scene was in 1920x1080 (or any other resolution i have set)
this leads to a smaller image than intended and this also is the case with using a .BCF file

i have tried to save the render state to a .RSM file to see if doing this would fix things but the same thing happens

what did i do wrong? what did i miss?
any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance you awesome people! :D

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:27 pm
by Dade
arescet wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:40 pm -tick the checkbox "LuxCore Filesaver"
-set a directory
-select "text" from the dropdown then render(F12), and do the same with "binary"
You don't need to do both, you can just use the binary format (if you do not intended to hand edit the text files): the .bcf binary file already includes everything, geometries, materials, textures, image maps, etc.

Both the .bcf and .rsm are totally stand alone/complete formats. It is different from old Lux where you needed the .flm and the full scene to start/re-start the rendering.
arescet wrote: Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:40 pm in luxcoreui v2.2 i do the following:

-select "rendering" menu then choose "load" option
-choose the .CFG file that was exported by blender
-let it render for about a minute
-click "rendering" menu then "pause" option
-click "film" menu then "save outputs" option (just to check if everything is going as intended)

for some reason, luxcoreui v2.2 does not seem to "know" that my scene was in 1920x1080 (or any other resolution i have set)
LuxCoreUI, be default will use the current window resolution for the rendering, you need to set LuxCoreUI in "Image view" mode: menu => Tool => Image view (the default is "Camera edit").

Once in "Image view", you can render at any resolution you want, the window will gain 2 scroll bars and you can render at any resolution you want.

You may want to enable periodic image saving like with old Lux too.

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 3:46 pm
by Fox
I believe the render resuming does not work, unless you compile custom version of luxcore ui with default resolution = the resolution you render in. Same with film merging. Not sure about border render film merging, maybe border render is also locked at default resolution :roll:

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:37 pm
by B.Y.O.B.
You can pass the resolution as a command line argument.
Note that luxcoreui is a developer tool, not aimed at end users.

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:52 pm
by Fox
B.Y.O.B. wrote: Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:37 pm You can pass the resolution as a command line argument.
Note that luxcoreui is a developer tool, not aimed at end users.
Is there guide in wikipedia somewhere?

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:24 pm
by B.Y.O.B.

Code: Select all

› ./luxcoreui -h
LuxCoreUI v2.2beta2 (LuxCore demo: http://www.luxcorerender.org)
Usage: ./luxcoreui [options] [configuration file]
 -o [configuration file]
 -f [scene file]
 -w [window width]
 -e [window height]
 -g <enable full screen mode>
 -t [halt time in secs]
 -D [property name] [property value]
 -d [current directory path]
 -m <makes the mouse operations work in "grab mode">
 -c <remove all unused meshes, materials, textures and image maps>
 -h <display this help and exit>

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 6:18 pm
by Fox
Thx B.Y.O.B

Custom resolution works for me like that:

Code: Select all

luxcoreui.exe -o C:\Users\Human\Documents\swimming_pool_benchmark\swimming_pool_benchmark_LuxCore\00001\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666
But how can i resume RSM file?

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 8:20 pm
by Dade
Fox wrote: Sat Oct 19, 2019 6:18 pm But how can i resume RSM file?
Use the .rsm file instead of the .cfg as argument.

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 8:53 pm
by Fox
It works :D

Code: Select all

Render custom resolution
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666

Resume render from rsm file
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\resume.rsm -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666

Re: how to: luxcore UI resumable rendering

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:05 pm
by arescet
You don't need to do both, you can just use the binary format (if you do not intended to hand edit the text files): the .bcf binary file already includes everything, geometries, materials, textures, image maps, etc.

Both the .bcf and .rsm are totally stand alone/complete formats. It is different from old Lux where you needed the .flm and the full scene to start/re-start the rendering.

LuxCoreUI, be default will use the current window resolution for the rendering, you need to set LuxCoreUI in "Image view" mode: menu => Tool => Image view (the default is "Camera edit").

Once in "Image view", you can render at any resolution you want, the window will gain 2 scroll bars and you can render at any resolution you want.

You may want to enable periodic image saving like with old Lux too.

glad you pointed imageview out, i am glad to know that .RSM files are complete files.
i will spend more time tinkering with the UI to figure out resumable rendering and periodic image saves like with old lux
You can pass the resolution as a command line argument.
Note that luxcoreui is a developer tool, not aimed at end users.

› ./luxcoreui -h
LuxCoreUI v2.2beta2 (LuxCore demo: http://www.luxcorerender.org)
Usage: ./luxcoreui [options] [configuration file]
-o [configuration file]
-f [scene file]
-w [window width]
-e [window height]
-g <enable full screen mode>
-t [halt time in secs]
-D [property name] [property value]
-d [current directory path]
-m <makes the mouse operations work in "grab mode">
-c <remove all unused meshes, materials, textures and image maps>
-h <display this help and exit>
that explains my instant non-dev fear of the UI then, ha!
i appreciate the detailed command line arguments very much
Thx B.Y.O.B

Custom resolution works for me like that:

luxcoreui.exe -o C:\Users\Human\Documents\swimming_pool_benchmark\swimming_pool_benchmark_LuxCore\00001\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666

It works :D
Render custom resolution
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\render.cfg -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666

Resume render from rsm file
cd C:\luxcorerender-v2.2-win64-opencl
luxcoreui.exe -o C:\resume.rsm -f scene.scn -w 4000 -e 2666
Your example is much appreciated, i will give it a go myself

Thanks to all for the tips!
you guys rock :D :D :D