PGI Problem

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

PGI Problem

Post by Sharlybg » Tue May 28, 2019 9:03 am

Just have a problem with a scene when PGI is enable :
PGI BUG.jpg
same with CPU or OPENCL or AMD or NVIDIA.I'm trying to reproduce the problem on a simpler and uploadable file.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2807
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: PGI Problem

Post by Dade » Tue May 28, 2019 9:10 am

Are you using a persistent cache file ? That is an IO error like if there was an error writing/reading the file.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PGI Problem

Post by Sharlybg » Tue May 28, 2019 9:23 am

Yes i was using one but when the Problem happen i decide to compute a new one in another folder. So i just change the original folder emplacement and check compute and save . And it happen again so i decide to uncheck compute/save and it work again.

As it work i decide to check compute/save again and then ___________ ios_base::failbit ******** error happen again.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2807
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: PGI Problem

Post by Dade » Tue May 28, 2019 9:28 am

Sharlybg wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 9:23 am
Yes i was using one but when the Problem happen i decide to compute a new one in another folder. So i just change the original folder emplacement and check compute and save . And it happen again so i decide to uncheck compute/save and it work again.

As it work i decide to check compute/save again and then ___________ ios_base::failbit ******** error happen again.
It sounds like you get an error overwriting/deleting the old file. Try to delete the file by hand. Do you get an error ?

Are you suing some special character in the file name ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1374
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PGI Problem

Post by lacilaci » Tue May 28, 2019 9:30 am

Isn't this permission issue? Try runing blender as administrator or if you already are, then as non administrator...

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PGI Problem

Post by Sharlybg » Tue May 28, 2019 11:15 am

It sounds like you get an error overwriting/deleting the old file. Try to delete the file by hand. Do you get an error ?

Are you suing some special character in the file name ?
if you're talking about .pgi file name no ( i never worried about giving it a special name as this was automatic and work very well before). the Blend file name is Simply MAKEY.
Isn't this permission issue? Try runing blender as administrator or if you already are, then as non administrator...
Same as before :|
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2809
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PGI Problem

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue May 28, 2019 11:23 am

Can you try saving the file to another harddrive?
Do you have enough free disk space?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PGI Problem

Post by Sharlybg » Tue May 28, 2019 12:10 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 11:23 am
Can you try saving the file to another harddrive?
Do you have enough free disk space?
i've 70GB free SSD disk space. also other file work very well saving .pgi file on same disk or other one.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PGI Problem

Post by Sharlybg » Tue May 28, 2019 12:16 pm

Finally find something to kill this problem.

I just compute a cache frome another project and copy/rename it for my problematic project. and then check compute/save to overwrite the fake cache. It work now ;)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PGI Problem

Post by Sharlybg » Thu May 30, 2019 12:22 pm

But i ve to admit that i encounter to much crash on this scene when PGI is enable. And it become worse with PGI+Opencl. Luxcore crash blender without print error.
And sometime luxcore tell me that render can't continue because image blablabla located in appdata/temp folder is mixing : but this is too strange because i don't use this image in my project. And when i create an image with same name in the appdata/temp folder luxcore tell me another one is missing.
Then i decide to copy the blend file (since the beginning all textures are packed in the blend file) on my desktop. Then i relaunch blender with the copied file on the desktop and decide to do first render on cpu no pgi. It work. Then switch to cpu + pgi . It work. Then switch to cpu + compute/save pgi . Then missing images i don't use on my project error start again. And the project start to crash for everything.

So i decide to append all blend mesh into a new fresh blend file. Crash stop until i check pgi or opencl or compute save.


Edit : it seem that my hanging plants particles system is problematic. So go to check why
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

Post Reply