Page 1 of 4

Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 1:20 pm
by Magog
Test on scene downloaded for free.
I need to work out on shaders and knots.

- 1'58 " of cooking at -1920 * 1080
- Default render settings
- Post production Affinity Photo

What do you think?

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 4:39 pm
by Magog
For me it is still difficult to manage the Denoise, which makes me lose all the details.
2500 samples, and this is the comparison.

Are there any strategies to remedy this?

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:29 pm
by PetrT
may be try to render with more resolution then needed and downscale to required

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:37 pm
by Dade
But are you using Intel Oidn or BCD as denoiser ?

P.S. looks great, I love photo-realism.

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:10 pm
by Magog
In both scenes, OIDN denoise.

PetrT,in the last scene I used 5000 samples... 9minute for the render.

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:34 pm
by epilectrolytics
Magog wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 4:39 pm
For me it is still difficult to manage the Denoise, which makes me lose all the details.
Are there any strategies to remedy this?
Just use the Blender compositor where you can mix raw with denoised result like 25:75 or something.

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:37 pm
by PetrT
5000 samples 9min is awesome

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:42 pm
by Magog
Just use the Blender compositor where you can mix raw with denoised result like 25:75 or something.

Which can I mix them with?

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:43 pm
by Magog
PetrT wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:37 pm
5000 samples 9min is awesome
With 2 Rtx 2080 and AMD ryzen 2950X... Yes. :D

Re: Simple Test Scene

Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:24 am
by epilectrolytics
Magog wrote:
Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:42 pm
Which can I mix them with?
When in LuxCore the denoiser is activated, the render layers node in the compositor shows a "DENOISED" output, which you can mix with the image output (shows the undenoised render).
Screenshot.jpg
(Somehow this does not automatically update after a new render, I always have to manipulate a node in order to get a screen refresh showing the intended result.)