First render in LuxCore - interior

Post your tests, experiments and unfinished renderings here.
lemonade
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:36 am

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by lemonade » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:15 pm

I don't know why, but I have half of the settings you have
Attachments
Przechwytywanie.PNG

kintuX
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by kintuX » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:52 pm

lemonade wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:15 pm
I don't know why, but I have half of the settings you have
Oh... i use latest alpha from here: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released (READ THE NOTE!)
& here's a thread about Denoiser Integration.

Enjoy ;)

lemonade
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:36 am

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by lemonade » Sat Sep 22, 2018 2:53 pm

Thanks! :)

User avatar
Sharlybg
Supporting Users
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by Sharlybg » Sat Sep 22, 2018 9:46 pm

I think you can use a lower clamp value ( arround 1/3 of actual value) to speed up things.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

lemonade
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:36 am

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by lemonade » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:53 am

I think you can use a lower clamp value ( arround 1/3 of actual value) to speed up things.
Do you mean "clamp output" in LuxCore config tab? I have this box uncheck actually - what approximate values should I be using?

lacilaci
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by lacilaci » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:27 pm

lemonade wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:53 am
I think you can use a lower clamp value ( arround 1/3 of actual value) to speed up things.
Do you mean "clamp output" in LuxCore config tab? I have this box uncheck actually - what approximate values should I be using?
Here's what I do
Make a quick render (so that you see the lighting) of the scene with clamping disabled.
Save the image or just use another rendering slot for comparison.
then use some random low value and do another quick render and compare if you see some visible changes in lighting. You want to use as low value as you can before the render/lighting/reflections start to look weird or too clamped compared to original render.

As for the actual value, it can be 10, 100, 1000 or 100 000. Depends on lighting. For example with default sun&sky which is very powerful, I can get away with 50 000 which boosts renderspeed quite a bit and removes fireflies. But I had cases with hdri where I could use values like ~100.

You can also use suggested value that is displayed right where the the clamping setting is. That suggested value will show after you first render a for a bit with claming disabled. I don't know how this suggested value is calculated and I never use it.

Generaly you know that your clamping value is too low when you see highlight clamping and too high when you see fireflies.

It's a bit confusing feature at first compared to how other renderers handle clamping with some general working defaults for secondary gi clamping only. But it's still a great feature that can speedup rendering a lot.

kintuX
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by kintuX » Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:48 pm

Just be aware...

With clamping on, one should prefer as high value as possible without introducing fireflies, since clamping will always lead to biased results (was a huge issue back in the days when VRay introduced it - and that's mostly biased engine). Cutting fireflies off is the main intent & function of this tool - so as soon as fireflies are gone clamping value is fine, especially while taking care for proper physically based 'ground truth' rendering - don't use lower values - if possible, don't use clamping at all!

Also note, clamping implemented in LuxCore doesn't behave same as in other engines - it is much more refined, thus also much more powerful & painful, if used incorrectly.

PS. To resolve noise, either render longer or learn to use denoiser without introducing splotches (fine, thin line it is & depends on the scene - number of large flat areas, image size, textures used, contrast, lighting...). Bad basic set & lousy scene foundations will result in worse-than-horrifying, shitty image.

BTW, don't fall for the AI denoiser hype - that stuff is gimmicky, just give it a huge size image or results from any other PT engine to clean up and you'll start to understand (it doesn't do shit or gets confused & does very little to images generated differently from what it was trained on (iRay uniPT), especially BiDir results and photographs are a total mystery/invisible to AI 'vision'). It also introduces kind of organic like repeating pattern similar to what can be observed with use of seamless textures on large areas. AI is a lie, dumb as fuck & got nothing to do with real intelligence - only marketing made it believable to ignorant masses. It's only valuable use is in pre-viz (also stated by NVidia & few others (RedShift dev., Corona dev.)).

& shit on me for - if misleading... as that's just my personal experience. ;)

lacilaci
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: First render in LuxCore - interior

Post by lacilaci » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:02 pm

kintuX wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:48 pm
Just be aware...

With clamping on, one should prefer as high value as possible without introducing fireflies, since clamping will always lead to biased results (was a huge issue back in the days when VRay introduced it - and that's mostly biased engine). Cutting fireflies off is the main intent & function of this tool - so as soon as fireflies are gone clamping value is fine, especially while taking care for proper physically based 'ground truth' rendering - don't use lower values - if possible, don't use clamping at all!

Also note, clamping implemented in LuxCore doesn't behave same as in other engines - it is much more refined, thus also much more powerful & painful, if used incorrectly.

PS. To resolve noise, either render longer or learn to use denoiser without introducing splotches (fine, thin line it is & depends on the scene - number of large flat areas, image size, textures used, contrast, lighting...). Bad basic set & lousy scene foundations will result in worse-than-horrifying, shitty image.

BTW, don't fall for the AI denoiser hype - that stuff is gimmicky, just give it a huge size image or results from any other PT engine to clean up and you'll start to understand (it doesn't do shit or gets confused & does very little to images generated differently from what it was trained on (iRay uniPT), especially BiDir results and photographs are a total mystery/invisible to AI 'vision'). It also introduces kind of organic like repeating pattern similar to what can be observed with use of seamless textures on large areas. AI is a lie, dumb as fuck & got nothing to do with real intelligence - only marketing made it believable to ignorant masses. It's only valuable use is in pre-viz (also stated by NVidia & few others (RedShift dev., Corona dev.)).

& shit on me for - if misleading... as that's just my personal experience. ;)
not my experience at all. Yes nvidia's denoiser is supposed to work as pre-viz/realtime denoiser for example in corona, but corona has a very good denoiser of it's own.

I think most people understanding what a denoiser is also know that all the ai talk is mostly probably just marketing, but it is the common terminology and practice these days.

Also what do "lousy scene foundations" have to do with how denoiser performs?

Post Reply