Kitchen + Living_

Post your tests, experiments and unfinished renderings here.
User avatar
Magog
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Kitchen + Living_

Post by Magog » Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:31 am

Hi to all.
Placed in the WIP section despite being a finished work, but I would like to use it as a test scene to be able to make further changes.
It's my first job with Lux and I feel very happy and satisfied for speed and "simplicity" to use and to creating shaders.
I only had a couple of days to do it, so little time to play with lights and settings.
I still don't fully understand all the settings in the LuxCoreCaches ..

I would like to know what you think and above all what you would improve.
500 samples with Amd2950x + 2 Rtx2080
Attachments
Cam_Detail.jpg
Cam_Front_2.jpg
Cam_Liv.jpg
Cam_Side.jpg

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1637
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by lacilaci » Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:50 am

Hey... I have a really bad feeling you used BCD denoiser.... why?

User avatar
Magog
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by Magog » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:17 am

Hi Laci.
I used OIDN..
What makes you think this?

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1637
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by lacilaci » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:20 am

Magog wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:17 am
Hi Laci.
I used OIDN..
What makes you think this?
ha, that's weird, did you use luxcore native oidn or the denoising node that comes with cycles? Cause some reflections have this weird artifacting that reminds me a lot of BCD.

Also DoF looks off a bit... Really looks a lot like BCD to me or OIDN without normal and albedo maybe... not sure what's up.

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1637
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by lacilaci » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:26 am

Is it by any chance possible that you by accident switched to bcd?
This definitely doesn't look like OIDN denoising to me at all... But maybe I'm hallucinating
artifacting.jpg

zeealpal
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by zeealpal » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:36 am

Its a nice looking scene, and a good start to LuxCoreRender!

My main suggestion would be it looks a little too clean, maybe add a little variation to some of the flat areas?

User avatar
Magog
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by Magog » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:39 am

That noise is due to the Glossy map that I used in post production.
In composting I usually insert the denoise node for the passes that interest me, here I did not.
I don't like the OIDN node of Cycles, it's like passing a plane and too much detail is lost.

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1637
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by lacilaci » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:41 am

Magog wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:39 am
That noise is due to the Glossy map that I used in post production.
In composting I usually insert the denoise node for the passes that interest me, here I did not.
I don't like the OIDN node of Cycles, it's like passing a plane and too much detail is lost.
Oh I see, so that's where that low frequency noise comes from...

User avatar
Magog
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by Magog » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:48 am

I will try to redo the same scene with some improvements and maps without noise.

I wanted to ask you something, is it normal that the unit of measurement always remains set to meters even if I always change it in cm?

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1637
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: Kitchen + Living_

Post by lacilaci » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:53 am

Magog wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:48 am
I will try to redo the same scene with some improvements and maps without noise.

I wanted to ask you something, is it normal that the unit of measurement always remains set to meters even if I always change it in cm?
where are they remaining as meters?
If I set unit system to metric and length to centimeters I get everything displayed as centimeters. (In some 2.81 daily builds of blender it sometimes auto switched me to meters but now it seems ok again)

Post Reply